Birmingham, AL –

The 52nd annual Linly Heflin Scholarship Luncheon and Fashion Show produced by Megan LaRussa is set for Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel Ballroom. Doors open at 11:30 AM. Tickets are $45.00 and available by calling the Linly Heflin Unit office at 871-8171. Additional information about the event is available at

Co-chairs Murray Priester and Happy Anthony have been working hard with representatives from Birmingham clothier Gus Mayer to present the latest fashions from Gustavo Cadile. Blending American style, Latin flavor, and European sensibility, New York womenswear designer Cadile gives familiar, classic fashion forms new context through his elegant and understated designs. Born in Junin, Argentina – the legendary birthplace of Eva Peron- Cadile lived across the street from Evita’s elderly cousin while growing up. When Cadile was five, the cousin showed him photos of Christian Dior draping Eva to finalize new couture designs. He instantly fell in love with fashion.

On Thursday, September 2, 2010 the Linly Heflin membership was treated to a “sneak peek” of Cadile’s designs along with other fashions from Gus Mayer. The fashion show preceded the business of the Unit’s regular meeting. The annual Scholarship Luncheon and Fashion Show continues to be the primary fundraiser for its scholarship program which underlines the groups motto, “Educate a woman and you educate a family.” Since 1923 the major focus of the Linly Heflin Unit has been to further the education of young women in Alabama. Through the years over three thousand four year scholarships totaling more than two million dollars have been awarded to deserving young women.

The Linly Heflin Unit is a committed group of 125 volunteers headed by President Bette Owen. Other key members involved in the upcoming event are: Gillian Goodrich, Pam Pritchard, Sally Worthen, Susan Alison, Roxanne Given, Helen Drennen, Margie Gray, Martha DeBuys, Eugenia Greer, Margaret Moor, Jane Arendall, Allison Pritchard, Anne Hicks, Gina Boyd, Kay Grisham, Elizabeth Hubbard, Deane Cook, Cynnie Sproul, Margaret Brunstad, Nancy Bromberg, JuJu Beale, and Sheri Corey.